Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Upcoming Maneuvers and Activities

On Friday August 29, 2014 the Fall 2014 eclipse season begins. Each day until September 21 the Earth will pass through the SDO telescopes' fields of view. These are opportunities to see the absorption of the solar extreme ultraviolet by the Earth's atmosphere, showing how high the atmosphere goes.
Stationkeeping burn #9 will happen next Wednesday (September 3, 2014) at 2245 UTC (6:45 p.m. ET). SDO data will be unavailable for about 30 minutes starting 2240 UTC (6:40 p.m. ET).
video
Just after eclipse seasons ends we have the second of three lunar transits in 2014. It will happen on September 24, 2014 from 0650-0720 UTC (2:50-3:20 a.m. ET). Here is the animation of the transit from the SDO Flight Dynamics Team.