Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Station Keeping Maneuver #20 Today

SDO will execute Station Keeping Maneuver #20 today at 2230 UTC (5:30 p.m. ET). From 2200 to 2250 UTC (5:00-5:50 p.m. ET) science data may be missing or blurred. Station-keeping maneuvers are designed to keep SDO’s orbit in the right place when the spacecraft travels through the geostationary belt twice each day.

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Happy Anniversary SDO!

Ten years ago, 11 Feb 2010, SDO rose majestically into the Florida skies. Since that day we have taken and recorded over 350 million images of the Sun.
Here's the image closest to the launch time, a lovely 211 Å image showing a large coronal hole over the South Pole and a smaller one over the north. Pretty typical solar minimum portrait!

Over the next year, Solar Cycle 25 will become more and more apparent. SDO will be there, observing the Sun and its magnetic field.

Congratulations to the SDO teams and all the people who enjoy our data!